Skip Navigation
search icon Open Search Field

Faculty Senate

The Faculty Senate is committed to promoting and ensuring the best interests of the faculty in the total dynamics of the Shaw University community. Its primary function is to interpret and recommend policy on all University affairs of direct concern to the faculty of the University. In this capacity, it will involve itself in the following matters: 

  • faculty recruitment and selection procedures;
  • faculty organization;
  • professional growth of the faculty;
  • faculty financial security and tenure;
  • faculty teaching loads;
  • faculty promotions, salaries, and other forms of recognition;
  • academic freedom;
  • establishing criteria and procedures for faculty evaluation; and
  • effecting good relationship with the faculty, administration, and public as appropriate. 

Download By-Laws/Constitution

Current Senators

Senator's Name Area of Representation Email Address
Bobby Sanders, President-Faculty Senate Physical Education
Edwin Okoye Business Administration
Lillian Cummings Physical Science
Shelby Palmer Psychology
Betty Liverman Education
Felicia Yarborough Criminal Justice
Natalie Hill English
Jeffrey Richards Religion & Ethics
Harold Ramcharan Computer Science
Eric Butler Biology
Josephine Oparoacha Mass Communication
Anozie Nebolisa Computer Information Systems
Cheryl Kirk-Duggan (sabbatical) Religion